The Story

Situated near Athlone, in Ireland’s Hidden Heartlands, our folk museum tells the story of our rural community through everyday objects. This award-winning museum was founded by Charlie Finneran, who operates it with his wife Bridie. Charlie grew up on the family farm adjoining the museum, the youngest of 11 children. One day he found an interesting object in the thatched roof of the house that generations of his family had called home. That object was a slate sundial, dating back to 1839, which was engraved by Charlie’s great-great grandfather. This was the start of a lifelong love for collecting and restoring local objects and artefacts and the plan to open a folk museum to share the display with others.

In 1998 The DerrygladFolk and Heritage Museum opened with 1,400 objects. Today the collection at this unique visitor attraction has grown to more than 7,500 objects. A visit is an opportunity to learn about this place and generations of its people, from Charlie, a true native son. He will tell you the stories behind each object, the life and times of the people who used them and what life was like in times gone by.

Derryglad Timeline

1998 - Official opening by Brendan Shine (musician)

official opening

2003 - Mccormack Room, Officially opened By Jimmy & Lilly Mccormack

Mccormack Room

2007 - Sport Section Officially opened By Gerry O Malley


2008 - School Room Display


2010 - Cobbler / Chemist Display


2016 - Dairy Display Officially opened By Tom Heavy (Editor Irish Vintage Scene)